top of page

The Standards for Mathematical Content are divided into three grade ranges: P-5, 6-8, and high school with 6 content strands or domains for each level as shown below. The Learning Standards were built on learning progressions. The progressions are descriptive continuums of how students develop and demonstrate deeper, broader, and more sophisticated understanding over time. The learning progressions:

  • describe the progression of a domain across a number of grade levels

  • reflect research on children’s cognitive development

  • follow the logical structure of mathematics

  • have clear binding threads that articulate the essential/core concepts and processes

  • articulate the movement from “novice” understandings of concepts to more sophisticated “expert” thinking, reasoning, application, and transfer

   Pre-Kindergarten &  
bottom of page